

SKAGIT COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, January 20, 2021 GoToMeeting Remote Meeting

Members Present

Commissioner Lisa Janicki, Skagit County, Chair; Mayor Jill Boudreau, City of Mount Vernon; Commissioner Peter Browning, Skagit County; Mayor Laurie Gere, City of Anacortes; Mayor Ramon Hayes, Town of La Conner; Mayor Julia Johnson, City of Sedro-Woolley; Commissioner Steve Omdal, Port of Skagit; Mayor Steve Sexton, City of Burlington; and Commissioner Ron Wesen, Skagit County.

STAFF PRESENT

Kevin Murphy, Executive Director; Katie Bunge, Associate Planner; Pam Carlson, Finance Manager; and Mark Hamilton, Senior Transportation Planner.

MINUTES

meetings.

- 1. Call to Order: Commissioner Janicki called the meeting to order at 2:42 p.m. Roll Call: Roll was taken with a quorum present.
- 2. Chair's Report: Commissioner Janicki reported that for the upcoming year, she will have a recurring meeting with the Executive Director prior to Transportation Policy Board and Board of Directors
- 3. Executive Director's Report: Mr. Murphy notified the Board that next month, adoption of the 2021 Cost Allocation Plan is an action item on the Board of Directors agenda. Adoption of this plan is necessary for SCOG's grant reimbursements throughout the rest of the year. A quorum is especially important for next month's meeting. A calendar was also included as an information item in the Board packet, which outlines major expected agenda items in 2021 for not only the Board of Directors, but also the Transportation Policy Board and Growth Management Act Steering Committee.
- 4. Written Public Comments: Mr. Hamilton explained that while there is no opportunity for verbal public comment during the remote meeting, written comments were accepted between the time when the meeting materials were released, and the day prior to the meeting. No public comments were received.
- 5. Consent Agenda
 - a. Approval of December 16, 2020 Board of Directors Meeting Minutes
 - b. Approval of Accounts Payable Vouchers and Payroll Certification

AP voucher batch #135407, #135587, and #135584 in an amount totaling \$42,760.90; and payroll certification for December 2020 in the amount of \$51,162.26.

Mayor Boudreau moved approval of the consent agenda items as presented, and Mayor Johnson seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.



6. Action Items

a. Election of 2021 Vice-Chair: Mayor Sexton nominated Mayor Boudreau for the position of Vice-Chair, and Mayor Hayes seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mayor Boudreau noted that the appointment of a SCOG Board representative to the Economic Development Alliance of Skagit County (EDASC) Board was mistakenly omitted from the agenda. Mr. Murphy acknowledged this, and noted that the SCOG Board typically identifies a municipal representative each year to serve on the EDASC Board. Mayor Johnson noted that she would be willing to step into this role for 2021.

Mayor Sexton moved to add Appointment of Representative to EDASC Board as an item on the meeting agenda, and Mayor Boudreau seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

- b. Appointment of Representative to EDASC Board: Mayor Johnson moved to serve as the 2021 SCOG Board representative on the EDASC Board, and Mayor Gere seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.
- 7. Roundtable and Open Topic Discussion: Commissioner Wesen thanked Mayor Sexton for bringing demonstration shelters to the City of Burlington, and asked about the cost difference between the different shelter types. Mayor Sexton responded that the wooden structure costs \$2,100 more than the pallet structure.
- 8. Next Meeting: The next meeting is Wednesday, February 17, 2021, at 2:00 p.m. via the GoToMeeting remote meeting platform.
- 9. Adjourned: Commissioner Janicki adjourned the meeting at 2:58 p.m.

Information Items: The Board of Directors was provided with a monthly financial update, the SCOG 2021 Board Calendar, and a Washington Intergovernmental Review Process Uniform Notification Form.

Approved,	
	Date:
Kevin Murphy, Executive Director Skagit Council of Governments	
	Date:
Commissioner Lisa Janicki, Skagit County Board of Directors Chair	
Skagit Council of Governments	