Growth Management Act Steering Committee

The Growth Management Act Steering Committee (GMASC) is the governing body of the Growth Management Act Committee – a planning organization composed of cities, towns, and Skagit County. An agreement, executed in 2002, established the Growth Management Act Committee and its steering and advisory committees. The GMASC develops recommendations on countywide planning policies, urban growth areas, and employment and population allocations to the Board of Skagit County Commissioners. A technical advisory committee provides advice to the GMASC and is composed of planning staffs from member jurisdictions.


The Skagit Council of Governments (SCOG) provide administrative and staff support, technical studies and other work as set forth in the annual work program through an interlocal agreement between SCOG and member jurisdictions of the Growth Management Act Committee.


The GMASC is composed of mayors and commissioners from the following jurisdictions.

GMASC Members

Commissioner Peter Browning

Skagit County

Commissioner Lisa Janicki

Skagit County

Commissioner Ron Wesen

Skagit County

Mayor Matt Miller

City of Anacortes

Mayor Bill Aslett

City of Burlington

Mayor Peter Donovan

City of Mount Vernon

Mayor Julia Johnson

City of Sedro-Woolley

Mayor Mandi Bates

Town of Hamilton

Mayor Marna Hanneman

Town of La Conner

Mayor Eddie Hills

Town of Lyman

Mayor Marla Reed

Town of Concrete



The GMASC sets the annual work program and budget for each calendar year. Meetings of the GMASC occur no less than once per year and are scheduled as necessary. More meetings are scheduled as the work program warrants, typically when there is consideration of modifying countywide planning policies or urban growth areas.

GMASC Meeting Materials

2024 Board Calendar

Empty section. Edit page to add content here.
Empty section. Edit page to add content here.
Select Language